In 1719 just a few months after the Venetians had attacked Ulcinj, Pasha’s Mosque was built under the walls of the Old Town. It was built of the donations of the local citizens as well as of the robbed money taken from Venetian ships, which had been caught into a storm opposite of Ulcinj in August 1718. It was devoted to the legendary Ottoman admiral, the conquerer of Ulcinj, Ali-Pasha Kilich (Uludz Alija). „It was opened for the happiness and prosperity of the people, to be hairli for a long time“, as it was written on the wall of this mosque.
Its minaret is the only one besides the one belonging to the Namazgjah mosque, which was preserved in Montenegro.