Around 1670 immediately after the end of the Candian war, a mosque was built under the northern entrance into the Old Town, in the settlement Meterizi. It was known as the downtown mosque.
When the Montenegrins conquered Ulcinj in 1880 it was in bad condition. Ten years later on the same foundation the orthodox church of St. Nikola was built “for the glory of God and the souls of his heroes who had died in 1878 during the liberation of Ulcinj”.
This building surrounded by a-hundred-year-old olive trees has got beautiful and valuable frescoes.